How to be more patient!

20120104-154833.jpgTechnology has stolen our patience. With the advent of the smart phone and the ipad, we can take our world with us wherever we go. We don’t have to wait for it because it is at our fingertips.

We have developed an attitude of entitlement. When we don’t get it when we want it we become frustrated with the waiting. After all, we’re entitled to get it now!

Leaders become frustrated with people who are learning.

Parents become frustrated with children who are growing.

Project managers become frustrated with ideas that are developing.

Airline passengers become frustrated with security checks.

The issue is not lack of patience

The issue is what we tell ourselves while we wait. It is our self-talk born out of expectations that frustrates us. Having the right perspective on a situation will give you realistic expectations, which in turn will produce healthy self-talk and less frustration (more patience).

Leaders with patience allow the crock pot of experience and learning to produce greatness in others.

Parents with patience see their children develop in a healthy environment at their own God-given pace.

Project managers with patience see end results that are filled with creativity and effectiveness.

Airline passengers with patience enjoy the ride.

Perhaps it’s not patience we need, but a new perspective on the situation. Having to wait doesn’t mean you are missing out on something you’re entitled to. It could be that what you are waiting for is being perfected.

…and perhaps what is being perfected is YOU!

But let patience have its perfect work, that you may be perfect and complete, lacking nothing. (James 1:4 NKJV)

Keep REACHING FORWARD for God’s best in your life! The life He has for you is worth it!

Comments welcomed.

4 thoughts on “How to be more patient!

  1. Lori

    Thank you for sharing. I’ve been posting a lot about needing patience, this hit the spot. My main lack of patience was with my child. This and a word from a friend help me to realize my son is three, and also that this is a growing season for the both of us to allow God-growth.

  2. Pam

    Each time I finding myself saying “look at me, God I’m being patient” and my situation is not improving, I am reminded that He will work in His own time and he probably is testing me to see if my faith is strong or still perfecting me to receive what He has in store for me. I’m going to be truthful…my personality makes it hard to be PATIENT but I’m determined.

Leave a Reply

