The Art of Waiting!

Charles Spurgeon once said: “Stand still” – keep the posture of an upright man, ready for action, expecting further orders, cheerfully and patiently awaiting the directing voice; and it will not be long ere God shall say to you, as distinctly as Moses said it to the people of Israel, “Go forward.” 

Life is made up of periods of waiting. I have to wait to get my driver’s license. I have to wait to graduate high school or college. I have to wait for the promotion. I have to wait for the raise. I have to wait for the “right” mate. I have to wait for the child to be born. I have to wait at the doctor, the checkout line, the stop light, the drive-through, the movie to start, the cd to come out.

In spite of technology and the closing gap, waiting is still inevitable.

In matters of purpose, destiny, and dreams…we wait.

What do we do while we are waiting?

1. Pray – Pray for clarity, strength, timing and the resources to go forward.

2. Plan – What will you do first when the waiting is over? What does the vision, mission, and strategy look like? Write it down. Research others who have gone before you and compare your plan against proven principles in the field.

3. Prepare – Preparation involves getting yourself ready. What are you lacking? Do you need knowledge, training, and/or experience?

4. Perform – Do your best where you are. Wait with integrity and excellence. Allow your character to be forged on the anvil of waiting. The quality of your character will not change just because you’re not waiting. In fact, when the waiting is over is when your character will be challenged the most.

5. Persist – Never give up! Stand strong! Like a true Soldier bearing armor and a mission waiting for the word “go.”

Keep REACHING FORWARD for the dreams and goals in your life. Don’t look at waiting as an obstacle, but an opportunity for the five-Ps.

Galatians 6:9 And let us not grow weary of doing good, for in due season we will reap, if we do not give up.

Please feel free to add to the conversation about the art of waiting.

4 thoughts on “The Art of Waiting!

  1. Ken Walton

    Man, have you been on target for me. Through your recent sermons, our talks and your post, you have answered many questions for me. As a baby Christian, I’m trying to run in every direction seeking more and more and you make me realize that by waiting and being patient, I get more messages than I ever dreamed I would get. It’s just simply waiting and listening! He always was there, I just wasn’t listening. Thanks Scott, you have been a true blessing.

Leave a Reply

