How To Get Refocused!

I have come to the realization over the past couple of days that I have been distracted from pursuing God’s best in my life. I have learned over the years that personal, spiritual, or professional growth doesn’t just happen. Growth in any area must be pursued. However, the most important growth a person can pursue is his or her relationship with God.

I have been very busy with studying the word, praying, preaching, and counseling others. These are all wonderful passions and my favorite things to do. At first glance, you might say it’s a wonderful thing to study the word and help others, and you would be correct. However, here’s the catch. We can become consumed with things around us, even the good things in life, to the point that we lose sight of what’s best.

I realized that I had been reading the bible, but I was not allowing the bible to read me! I have allowed the Lord to recalibrate my heart to once again put first things first. It’s a great thing to love what you do, but it’s better to love who you are and who you are becoming. I encourage you to join me in guarding against distractions so that you and I can place priority on allowing God’s word to “read” our own hearts and lives.

The Apostle Paul said not to allow even family to distract us from God’s best. He wasn’t suggesting neglect and neither am I. However, I am suggesting balance in the context of priorities. Allowing the Word of God to read us first will empower us to impact the world around us in far greater measure than doing it in our own strength.

1 Cor 7:35 – “I am saying this for your benefit, not to place restrictions on you. I want you to do whatever will help you serve the Lord best, with as few distractions as possible.” 

Getting re-focused does not mean doing away with what is good. It only means putting what is better (God’s word) first! Keep REACHING FORWARD for God’s best in your life! He will never let you down!

Feel free to share your own experiences in how you get re-focused!

5 thoughts on “How To Get Refocused!

  1. Great blog Pastor Scott. It is always the challenge of ministry. That is the reason that every morning we go to God in a personal way and allow Him to ministry to YOU, not through you. I have found the balance on this hundreds of times over the last 25 years. So good to hear an honest preacher!
    Pastor Tom

Leave a Reply

