Giving is All About Me?!

Why do we give gifts?  Why should we give?  Do we give because we feel obligated knowing that we will probably receive a gift and we don’t want to be embarrassed?  Do we give because it’s tradition and the thing to do?  Have you ever really thought about it?  Here’s a question.  Do you enjoy giving?  Do you desire to spend your hard-earned money on someone else…even those who might not even like you very much?  I mean after all, do they really deserve it? 

I think it’s interesting how often I have made decisions about giving based on the person I’m giving to.  I ask myself, “I wonder what they’ll get me…how much will they spend on me…I wonder what they need…What do you get someone who has everything…”  Often times I make my giving all about the person to whom I’m giving.  What about you?  Is that what giving is all about?

I was reminded recently that giving has very little to do with the person I’m giving to, but it has everything to do with ME!  What?  That’s right.  Giving is about ME!  At Christmas we celebrate the ultimate gift; the birth of Christ.  God gave us Jesus because of His love for us.  It was not because we deserved the gift or because we had something cool to give back to Him.  God gave us His only begotten Son because He loved us.  He gave because of who He is.  In Scripture, the Apostle Paul speaks of the Macedonian churches giving generously out of the overflow of their joy (2 Cor 8:2).  The Apostle Paul also encouraged the Corinthian church to give generously in order to test the genuineness of their love (2 Cor 8:8).  Even Jesus said that it is more blessed to give than to receive (Acts 20:35). 

Giving really is all about ME.  It is a reflection of my love for other people.  It is an expression of the joy that is on the inside of me that comes from the Lord.  My giving, especially at Christmas time, is motivated by the love God showed me at the birth of Christ and demonstrated when I give to others.  I don’t have to qualify someone for my gift; my love for them is the qualifier.  What about you? 

REACH FORWARD for His love today and allow His joy to overflow your heart through unconditional giving!  When you do, the true meaning of Christmas will become real to you!  God bless you!

Leave a Reply

