Let Go of the Rope!

I think all of us long for a life that is filled with peace, joy, and contentment.  I want a life where I am free to be me;  a life where I can live in peace, joy, and happiness.  How can I arrive at this kind of life?  The tendency is to look to external sources to fill that longing, such as, making the right amount of money; living in the right house; driving the right car; having the right relationship with the right person; being accepted by certain people and always gaining their approval; etc.   We think if we work hard enough toward certain things we’ll get what we’re looking for in life.  However, I find that I only end up in a tug-of-war with life.  I pull and pull and pull wearing myself out and getting sick and tired of the struggle.  I want to let go of the rope and just be free to be me.  I’ve discovered that God has a way of life for people that is filled with peace and joy.  It’s not that life is always easy or that the challenges of life will be removed.  Rather, God provides wisdom and an inner strength and peace to live life through the struggles that exists.  He says in Hebrews 4:9-10 that “There remains therefore a rest for the people of God.  For he who has entered His rest has also ceased from His works as God did from His.”  You see, we don’t have to live in a tug-of-war  with outside sources to live the life we long for;  money won’t do it, relationships won’t do it, religious rules won’t do it.  The answer is to know God and His Holy Spirit that lives on the inside.  I don’t have to “pull” at trying to find a life of peace and joy.  I can be free to be me knowing that I have entered His promise of rest once and for all.  Nothing outside of me can do it, but only God living in me.  And once I know He’s there, then I can truly rest in this life and be free to be me!  Let the struggle end…LET GO OF THE ROPE!

Leave a Reply

