Just Waving at Heaven!

I have a neighbor at the end of my street that I pass by every time I leave my house or come home.  A lot of times I see him outside and I’ll honk and wave.  I have met him before and have even been to his house a time or two.  I thought about that the other day and wondered how much more I would benefit from our relationship if I actually stopped in and didn’t just casually wave once in a while.  I wondered, then, how many times I casually give God a drive-by and wave in passing.  Lamentations 3:40-41 says “Let us search out and examine our ways, and turn back to the Lord; Let us lift our hearts and hands to God in heaven.”  You see,  it’s easy to lift our hands and go through the motions without lifting our hearts.  In order to really get to know God, we have to lift our hearts and receive what He has for us.  When we lift our hands without lifting our hearts we’re simply waving at heaven on a drive-by.  However, when we lift our hearts along with our hands so that we’re positioned to receive His forgiveness, love, joy, peace, etc.., then we are really getting to know Him.  I want to get the most out of my relationship with God.  In order to do that, I need to examine myself and turn toward Him with an open and uplifted heart.  How about you?  Have you been giving God a drive-by and just waving at heaven?  REACH out to Him with an open heart as well as open arms and receive all that He has for you.  You will not be disappointed.  He is there waiting.

One thought on “Just Waving at Heaven!

Leave a Reply

